Forums · Interview with Don Allis, Publisher of Alien Seeker News

PaulDale Roberts

0 +0

Sep 27 '08

Interview with Don Allis, Editor/Publisher of Alien Seeker News
Interviewed by Paul Dale Roberts, President of Jazma Online! General Manager/Ghostwriter of H.P.I. (Haunted and Paranormal Investigations International)

Paul: Tell us something personal about yourself. Where you were born and raised and maybe about your family life, what schools you went to, etc.?

Don: I grew up in Michigan and moved to the Phoenix, Arizona area in 1982 where I now still live today.

I was always somewhat adventurous and left home when I was only 16 years old and hitchhiked across the country when I ended up working on a ranch in Montana for a summer.

In my late teens I got restless again and hitchhiked to Florida where I worked as a framing carpenter. From there I ended up in New Orleans when I became interested in getting a job as a Merchant Marine. However in order to be issued my Merchant Marine documents I first needed a shipping company that would hire me. I connected up with an ex-sea captain who now owned a bar. For $100, paid under the table, he would give people letters from his friends, who were still sea captains, stating that they would hire that person. This letter would then provide what was needed in order to receive the merchant marine documents.

After receiving my Merchant Marine documents I got a job out of New York, NY working on a charter boat that went up and down the Hudson River chartering parties of 1000 people and more. One of my shipmates told me about working on the Great Lakes iron ore carriers and that the pay was so much better then what I was then getting then. Before I knew it I was on my way to Chicago where I lived for two months before securing a job with US Steel Corporation working as a deckhand.